Follow

Delete Behavior for Gmail Accounts

About Gmail's All Mail Label

In Postbox, a Gmail Label is the same as a Folder. Labels = Folders, and vice-versa. But the behavior is different than normal IMAP accounts.

With Gmail, all your messages can be found in one big folder called "All Mail," which will contain messages from all folders, e.g. Inbox, Sent, etc.

For example, a single message within the Inbox will also always be found in All Mail, because All Mail contains everything.

When you Archive a Gmail message from the Inbox, the message can still be found in All Mail.

Deleting a message is different, which we will describe below.

Default Delete Behavior

When you delete a message from the Inbox, Postbox moves the message to Gmail/Trash, causing it to be removed from ALL other labels/folders as well.

When you delete a message from within a label/folder, Postbox removes the message from the current label/folder only, and the message remains in other labels/folders.

Postbox Delete Preferences for Gmail Accounts

Preferences for deleting messages in your Gmail account can be found at the following location

  • (Mac) Preferences > Accounts > [your Gmail account], under When I delete a message

  • (Windows) Tools > Options > Accounts > [your Gmail account], under When I delete a message

accounts-delete_2x.png

Move it to this folder [Trash]

This is the default setting. In Gmail accounts, you can not specify a different folder for Trash.

When using this default setting, if you delete a message from Postbox's Inbox, it is then:

  • Removed from the Postbox Inbox, but NOT the Gmail Inbox until you empty the Trash in Postbox.

  • Placed into the Postbox Trash folder AND the Gmail Trash folder.

  • Removed from Postbox labels AND Gmail's labels (although the Inbox will show messages with labels, but label selection will not)

  • Removed from Postbox's All Mail folder AND Gmail's All Mail folder. 

Just mark it as deleted

The IMAP protocol allows messages to be marked for deletion, a sort of limbo state where a message is still present in the folder but slated to be deleted the next time the folder is expunged. With Gmail's default settings, when you mark a message as deleted, Gmail doesn't let it linger in that state -- it deletes (or auto-expunges) it from the folder right away.

If you want the two-stage delete process:

  • Select "Auto-Expunge off" under the "Forwarding and POP/IMAP" tab in Gmail Settings.

  • Check the "Clean up ('Expunge') Inbox on Exit checkbox in the same Postbox preferences panel listed above.

When you delete a message using the default "Archive the message" options in Gmail settings, it is then:

  • Marked as deleted in the Inbox, until you exit Postbox, upon which time, the message will then be removed from the Postbox Inbox, and the Gmail Inbox.

  • Placed into the Postbox Archive folder, and the Gmail All Mail folder.

  • A copy is not placed in the Postbox Trash folder.

Remove it immediately

If you select this setting, and then delete a message in Postbox, it is then:

  • Removed from the Postbox Inbox, and the Gmail Inbox.

  • Placed into the Postbox Archive folder, and the Gmail All Mail folder.

  • A copy is not placed in the Postbox Trash folder.