Follow

Gmail Important Folder

The "Important" label is assigned to a message by Google, based on Google’s adaptive understanding of your interests and priorities. If you no longer wish to view messages with the Important label, there are a couple of things you can do:

The Slow Fix: Re-Training Google

You can re-train Google about what’s important to you by removing the label from each message you don’t consider important. If there’s message that you think is important that Google’s has not labeled properly, you can assign the Important label to it. Eventually, Google’s behavior will more accurately reflect your wishes.

Here’s how to remove a message’s label in Postbox:

  1. Select an e-mail in Postbox’s message list.
  2. Hover your cursor over the Important label in the upper-right corner of the message and click x when it appears to let Google know the message is not important.

Here's how to add a message's label in Postbox:

  1. Select an e-mail in Postbox’s message list.
  2. In the upper-right corner of the message, you’ll see a popup menu.
  3. In this popup menu, select the Assign Label submenu.
  4. Assign the Important label to the message to let Google know the message is important.

The Quick Fix: Hiding the Important Folder in Postbox

You can unsubscribe from Google’s Important folder, so you don’t have to see or deal with it. (It remains on Google’s servers. It’s just hidden in Postbox.)

Here are instructions for unsubscribing from the Important folder.

After unsubscribing from the Important folder:

  1. Go to Postbox (OS X)/Tools (Windows) > Preferences/Options > Accounts > [your account] > Advanced…
  2. Check the Show only subscribed folders option.
  3. Restart Postbox.